About us

The project (funded by the UCM) consists of the use of new methodologies and technologies applied to the teaching and learning of the different modes of audiovisual translation (AVT), especifically the ones related to accessibility: subtitling for the deaf and hard-of-hearing and audiodescription for the blind or partially-sighted. The main goal is to design materials, resources and evaluation processes in order to put into practice these new technologies and methodologies for teaching and learning.

The project includes the compilation of the CALING corpus (Corpus de Accesibilidad Lingüística) which includes a database of different activities designed by the research group and used in different audiovisual translations university classes to teach the different modes of audiovisual translation: dubbing, subtitling for hearing population, subtitling for the deaf (SDH) and audiodescription for the blind (AD). The project also includes the evaluation by real recepients of the students' activities complied in the CALING corpus.

Director of the project:

Dr. Juan Pedro Rica Peromingo (English Studies, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), juanpe@filol.ucm.es.

Research Team:

Dr. Arsenio Andrades Moreno (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid), a.andrades@upm.es.

Dra. Mercedes Ariza (Fondazione Unicampus San Pellegrino, Italy), mercedes.ariza@fusp.it.

Dr. Jorge Díaz Cintas (Centre for Translation Studies, University College London, Great Britain), j.diaz-cintas@ucl.ac.uk.

D. Óscar Frades Villar (English Linguistics, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), ofrades@ucm.es

Dra. Lourdes Lorenzo García (Translation and Linguistics, Universidad de Vigo), llorenzo@uvigo.es.

Sara Martínez Portillo (English Linguistics, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), samart01@ucm.es.

Dr. Manuel Mata Pastor (Translation and Interpreting, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), manuel.mata@ucm.es.

Dra. Anna Matamala (Translation and Interpreting, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona), anna.matamala@uab.cat.

Dra. Pilar Orero Clavero (Translation and Interpreting, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona), pilar.orero@uab.cat.

Dra. Ana María Pereira Rodríguez (Translation and Linguistics, Universidad de Vigo), pereira@uvigo.es.

Dra. Blanca Puchol Vázquez (UNIR), blanca.puchol@unir.net.

D. Israel Robla Morales (Universidad Complutense de Madrid), iroblamo@ucm.es.

D. Ángel Raúl Rodríguez Gutiérrez (English Studies, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), angsaenz@ucm.es.

Dra. Ana Laura Rodríguez Redondo (English Studies, Universidad Complutense de Madrid), analaura@filol.ucm.es.

Ángela Sáenz Herrero (Universidad Europea Miguel de Cervantes), asaenz@uemc.es.

Webpage designer:

Andreu Oliver Moreno, andreu4448@gmail.com.